Chief of Police, Jose Pelaez
Jose Pelaez officially began serving as the Chief of Police for the City of St. Charles on February 1, 2021. Chief Pelaez is a 7-year resident of St. Charles and has served as a St. Charles Law Enforcement Officer for 12 years, serving the last 5 years as the Sergeant of the department. He has also served the last 10 years in the United States Air Force Reserves as a Non-Commissioned Officer leading through two deployments in the Middle East.
Chief Pelaez has earned an Associates in Law Enforcement, a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice and will finish his Masters in Emergency Management-Homeland Security in the Spring of 2021.
Previous to serving as a Patrol Officer for the City of St. Charles, he worked as a Detention Deputy for the Winona County Sheriff’s Department for 7 years. He has also served as a volunteer firefighter/first responder for 14 years and brings with him extensive trainings and certifications. He is fluent in Spanish and served as a translator for over 10 years.
“I am honored to have been selected as the next Chief of Police for the City of St. Charles. Along with my fellow Officers, and the partnerships that the St. Charles Police Department has built over the years, we will continue the tradition of serving our community with the highest moral and professional standards, while enforcing the law without fear, favor, or discrimination as to class, color, race or creed,” stated Chief Pelaez.
You may contact Chief Pelaez at 932-8020 or by emailing him at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Need a Form?
Minnesota Permit To Purchase–St. Charles residents looking to obtain a firearm may fill out the Minnesota Permit to Purchase form and submit it to the St. Charles Police Department for processing. Feel free to fill out the form, print and bring to City Police Department during regular business hours. Processing may take 7-14 business days and you will be contacted once the permit is ready for pickup. Minnesota Permit to Purchase Form
Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Report–If you are in accident, every driver in a crash involving $1,000.00 or more in property damage, MUST COMPLETE the Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Report and send it to Driver and Vehicle Services within 10 days. Failure to provide this information is a misdemeanor under Minnesota Statute 169.09, subdivision 7. Below is a quick link to the Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Report form for your convenience. Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form